TERROIR & CLIMATE

The territory of the Protected Geographical Indication (IGP) is like certain of its wines, concentrated within an area of about forty kilometers. The stony soil is dominated by limestone, corresponding to the watersheds of the Eygues and Ouvèze, of sedimentary origin.

It is the topography that gives the Coteaux des Baronnies all of their particular characteristics. With an average altitude of 600 metres, the relief is hilly, wild and rugged.

Agriculture is predominant in the local economy. Alongside vine-growing, arboriculture and mixed farming, in the broad sense of the term, play an important role. Orchards, vineyards, olive groves and fields of lavender cut the countryside up into a mosaic of different tones and textures.

Agriculture is predominant in the local economy. Alongside vine-growing, arboriculture and mixed farming, in the broad sense of the term, play an important role. Orchards, vineyards, olive groves and fields of lavender cut the countryside up into a mosaic of different tones and textures.

TERROIR & CLIMAT

Le territoire de l'Indication Géographique Protégée est à l'image de certains de ses vins, concentré dans un espace d'une quarantaine de kilomètres. Le sol caillouteux y est à dominance calcaire concordant avec les bassins versants des rivières de l'Eygues et de l'Ouvèze, d'origine sédimentaire.

La topographie confère aux vins des Coteaux des Baronnies toutes leurs particularités. Avec une altitude moyenne de 600 mètres, le relief est morcelé, sauvage et tourmenté. L'ensemble du vignoble se situe entre 300 et 700 mètres.

L'agriculture est prépondérante dans l'économie locale. L'arboriculture et la polyculture au sens large jouent en plus de la viticulture un rôle important. Vergers, vignes, oliveraies, champs de lavande, garrigues découpent le paysage en une mosaïque de teintes et de textures.

Le climat méditerranéen offre ensoleillement et douceur de vivre, relevé par une influence montagnarde générée par l'altitude, caractéristique bienfaitrice pour l'épanouissement du vignoble des Baronnies. La différence de température entre le jour et la nuit confère au vin de la Région un caractère particulier.